towel

There are so many beautiful people in the world. It truly never ceases to amaze me.

These past few months I have been overwhelmed by the amount of truly remarkable human beings that I have been surrounded by. I would have been approaching my return date from Sweden in these next couple of weeks and it has been bittersweet to think of all that I have missed out on over there.

I have always been hyper-aware of the opportunity cost of everything in life. It is a perpetual dialogue that runs rampant within my brain–berating whatever choice I ultimately decide on and wonder what it would have been like if I had taken the other option.

If I order this dish, will it satisfy my hunger better than the other?

If I am on this radio station, what if my favorite song is being played on another one?

If I leave Sweden, what will I miss? If I stay, what will I miss at home?

It is an unhealthy game that is impossible to win. At some point, it is just not realistic or beneficial to weigh and analyze every option. Anyone who has been shopping with me can attest to the fact that I take FOREVER–with anything from museli to a pen.

The truth is, no matter what choice is made in the end you have to accept that it was made and embrace whatever the result may be. It is scary to face reality straight in the face like that but it is necessary.

We have too many options available to us and it is just horrifically overwhelming. Limits are needed. Or at least acceptance of the selected recourse is.

good 2am drive home song ;)

One response to “towel

  1. You have maturity beyond your years. I’ve made some difficult choices this year, and I’ve learned the value of not looking back in regret but pushing forward with determination to embrace what each day brings. Thanks for sharing, sweet girl. You are a joy to know!

Leave a Reply

