dramatic

You know what a rather critical instrument involved in driving is?

A key.

If you would like to be able to drive to places, it is helpful to not lose yours.

Just a little tip for you all.

You are probably assuming that I have had a rough experience involving misplacement of my keys today and you would be right. Today began well, and is shaping up nicely, but there were some bumps in the road.

I was down at campus early today, got my advisement hold taken off, and found out I got a B on my Sociology paper. Under normal circumstances I would be appalled at that grade and would likely have a mini meltdown but considering I went to exactly one class and then learned everything and wrote the paper in one day I’ll take whatever passing grade I can get.

It was beautiful outside so I decided to go on a run and when I was changing in my car like the classy girl I am, no one walked by--always a plus in my book when I manage to not expose myself to strangers.

Then I did a stupid thing. I knew about the whole putting your key through the laces of your shoe trick BUT I failed to remember that you cant just weave it through the front of the laces and call it a day. Turns out you need to string it along one of the laces as well.

I learned this the hard way, and spent my time pondering my stupidity while I attempted to find the AAA 800 number online–which is impossible might I add. My mom eventually found it for me since my AAA card was locked ohsohelpfully in my car, and they sent a locksmith my way as my phone slowly drained of charge.

He unlocked my car, I was able to change my clothes and gather my things, my dad picked up a new key from the dealer, and I walked to meet up with Tessa for the walk over to her house to meet up with people.

The crisis was short lived and minimally dramatic BUT the inconveniences associated with it continue to plague me now. My phone went out when I was at Saggios with the girls while I was attempting to coordinate a place for my dad to pick me up to go home tonight. Attempts to swindle my lovely friends into driving me to Eubank and Central were made, and they did all offer to take my but really its just one of those frustrating circumstances where you have to depend on someone else’s mercy to get you places. (felt like I was in 9th grade again)

NOW, I have my key but my car is down at Jen’s so my dad will have to drop me down there tomorrow and then I will need to drive all the way up to my mom’s to change and pack for Thursday and then all the way back down to campus for work and to hang out with people!

There was a lesson learned from all this though! Don’t go running, ever.

;)

One response to “dramatic

  1. I am notorious about losing my car keys. I’ve had way too many experiences to recount! I’m sorry that you had to go through this…but at least you were able to get into your car in a somewhat reasonable amount of time. Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a great holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

