prose

As an English major, I would be disrespecting myself and potential future professors if I didn’t preface this post by professing my admiration and appreciation for classical literature.

Especially in handbag form! Oh man, do I want this!

Did I really just publicly announce my interest in a purse made from a book? Alright, the honors program is officially going to kick me out.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Great Expectations and the Bronte sisters as much as the next literature addict BUT I find when walking past the fiction section of Borders that I have read and/or own a fair amount of the novels displayed.

There really is something to be said for the merit of the ‘snack book’. My reasoning is best understood when equated to television–serious dramas and thematic social commentary pieces are incredibly interesting and important to watch, but every now and then you just need a romantic comedy.

One could argue that you don’t NEED either books or tv technically but I then would punch you in the face and lose the reason for my existence so let’s just not go there. (You don’t NEED to be on the computer that you are reading this from Snarky McSnarkSnark)

So under the assumption that both television and fiction are facets of popular culture that contribute to the society that we inhabit, bear with me. I am always a bit bashful when people ask me what I am reading lately, because my kindle was ohsogenerously filled up with said ‘snack’ reading.

If the television analogy didn’t sit well with you, let me try another approach. You need your fruits and vegetables, but everyone just eats them so they can have dessert after.

Hm.

Yes.

There it is. I like that one. Just forget the tv explanation actually because I am more than a tad biased–tv addict that I am. I have also been surprised by some of the little truths that are hidden within some of these supposed borderline superficial books.

It is a nice surprise to turn the page of

and have it say something like this

followed by something like this

I feel a little bit better about myself when I come across that. It’s like watching the Real Housewives and having one of the stars refuse botox (NOTE: this has yet to happen) or Sex and the City when Carrie just hits the nail on the head and you feel for a moment that maybe the writers of the show secretly hold the truths of the universe and are dispensing it in the little bursts and medium that they think the public can handle.

and and and—quick hurray for run on sentences! I need to go to school. hahah

So on that note, I am steadily chomping my way through my snack literature and am hankering for something with real meat in it. (Suggestions are welcome!) Don’t get me wrong, Her Fearful Symmetry and The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake were nice–but only took me two days to read each one! This also goes for the entire trilogy of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy.

in summary of this entire post:

I NEED BOOK IDEAS!

2 responses to “prose

  1. So glad you asked….

    In addition to Stieg Larsson’s trilogy which you’ve already devoured, I recommend these:

    Sarah’s Key, Tatiana de Rosnay
    The Passage, Justin Cronin
    The Reliable Wife, Robert Goolrick
    The Piano Teacher, Janice Y. K. Lee
    The Sixteen Pleasures, Robert Hellenga
    Cutting For Stone, Abraham Verghese

    I’d love to know how you like any of them.

    Love, Kathy

  2. AH…I love it. I saw this on my google reader and my English loving self was drawn to your blog immediately. I want that handbag so badly too! As for some great literature…pick up Shelter by Jane Anne Phillips. I just finished it, and I’m still in awe.

Leave a Reply

