strum

“I know”

These are words that are a part of my everyday vocabulary. Alright? I admit it!

I am a chronic know-it-all.

The fact that I am aware of it does not override the fact that it is a defining factor of my existence–it is merely a step in the direction of (hopefully) overcoming it.

I have been afflicted with this terrible quality for who knows how long, but everyone who knows me has likely experienced my snooty attitude at some point. The problem is I generally realize that I am doing it only after a snippy response has escaped my lips.

I would like to work on this because despite popular my own belief, I am actually only an 18 year-old college sophomore that, in fact, does not have all the universe’s answers to life’s questions.

For some reason having someone instruct me or correct me on ANY topic under the sun, even if they clearly know more than me, feels like a shot to the gut. This is not conducive to learning and making progress towards potentially knowing everything because peoples’ advice is, in reality, very helpful!

Another aspect of my life that this know-it-all attitude contaminates is learning new skills. I get frustrated cooking, playing tennis, writing, etc. I tend to go through phases where I will be totally enraptured by some activity but once the learning curve hits I just give up and move onto the next thing.

Guitar is one of these things. I fell in love with it, I dedicated myself to playing for two months, followed by sporadic strumming for two more months before summer hit and all my drive (and time) to practice went out the window.

I finally picked it up again last night, and before I knew it I had re-learned three songs and two hours had passed–funny how that happens, eh?

Anyways, my goal is to play for fifteen mintues at least, 5 days a week and not be so hard on myself when I don’t automatically sound like Jimi Hendrix.

Wish me luck!

One response to “strum

  1. I know – Ha – I know we do this – but I think we do brush the know-hows off because we have a right to our own discovery process even if we make their mistakes over. Perhaps the process is more important than the results – we need our turn to reinvent the wheel and try it out – bumps and all.
    When we finally really learn something we are old and look around to someone to “help” – they are young and won’t listen – more ha ha.
    Love MM
    A famous Swedish quote: “Battre lyss till den strang som brast an att aldrig spanna en bage” Erik Gustaf Geijer, Swedish poet from late 1800 to early 1900’s. The metaphor deals with archery.

Leave a Reply

