syrup

It is night time, I arrive with people at a hotel. We attempt to get into the elevators only to realize they are bags with strings attached that you zip yourself into and then slowly dangle as it raises you. Not only will my bag and myself not fit in that bag, but there is no way in hell I am trusting my life to a bag.

We take the stairs. We get to level five, open the door and the a train whooshes past, shaking the entire building. The train tracks run parallel to our trailer–which apparently is the room that we rented–no WONDER it was so cheap!

We open the door to find that someone else’s stuff is all over the trailer. Not just any stuff either, disgusting, cigarette smoke bathed, ratty old blankets..let’s just say there is at least three diseases waiting for us. My companion starts arguing with the porter about cleaning up the room but they refuse.

And then I don’t remember anything else. This was in my dream, not the whole thing but just a piece. I remembered it while eating cake and coffee this morning and proceeded to look up what it all meant according to dr. internet.

HOTEL:

All dwelling places generally represent the dreamer’s psychological, emotional, or spiritual condition. The dream may reflect a current reality, issue, or dilemma and attempt to bring the dreamer into greater self-awareness. Because a hotel is a transitory dwelling, it suggests a time away from one’s responsibilities or routine. As a dream symbol it could reflect a need for rest and reflection. Depending on the details of the dream, specific information can be ascertained. For example, if the hotel is luxurious it suggests prosperity and positive decision-making. However, if the hotel is rundown and inadequate, it may reflect a time of uneasiness and depravation. Whether the hotel in your dream represented a retreat or escapism is for you to determine by examining your current daily reality. Finally, a hotel may refer to a temporary stage in life or be a form of compensation with which the dreamer eases the anxiety and stress experienced during the day

TRAIN

To see a train in your dream, represents conformity. You are just going along with what everyone else is doing. Alternatively, a train means that you are very methodical. You need to lay things out specifically and do things in an orderly and sequential manner. In particular, if you see a freight train, then it refers to the burdens and problems that you are hauling around.

ELEVATOR

In general, the up and down action of the elevator represents the ups and downs of your life. It also symbolizes emotions and thoughts that are emerging out of and submerging into your subconscious. Alternatively, the dream may have sexual connotations.

To dream that the elevator is out of order or that it is not letting you off, symbolizes that your emotions have gotten out of control. It may be a reflection of your life or your career. You are feeling stuck in some aspect of your life, whether it is your career, relationship, etc.

hmmmm..

 

Now, while I don’t think that it is an exact science I do think dream interpretation has SOME merit because your mind could very well associate certain images with particular feelings. Your subconscious runs wild, interprets your experiences and feelings of the day and programs it in your mind as you sleep SO Freud’s latent content makes sense to me. I just think it is interesting to think about, not live your life by.

It’s just fun! and creepily accurate.


2 responses to “syrup

  1. Interesting about dreams. Yes I also believe dreams are a reflection of our lives awake. I am not a big dreamer but when it happens I try to figure out what different images relate to. Especially I find dreams revealing about things we fear but don’t want to deal with. And I am convinced that dreams are “real” representing electrical and chemical impulses moving around in the brain using the memory and our thinking capabilities. However, I have always been skeptical to the idea that train, hotel, bag etc represents the same thing for everybody, so much depends on the context and our own experience. Maybe I would change this view if I had time to read more about Dreams; psychologists get to hear so much from people and we are all pretty similar.

  2. Now I want to record all of my dreams so that I can analyze them later in the day. I always end up forgetting mine! I love how you remembered your dream while “eating cake and coffee”. You are my type of girl. Thank you for sharing…I hope that your Thursday is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

