length

One of the many perks about being a temporary transplant from another place is that responsibilities are minimal. That being said, I have class for approximately 5 hours every week and aside from that I have quite a bit of free time on my hands.

So what was a girl with no class to do on a dreary Thursday but to cook dinner for some lovely ladies?

My first inclination was to make some salmon considering I have yet to eat it out here where it is plentiful and cheap, despite it being a staple back home where it is neither. This all changed when I arrived at the grocery store after the 6km bike ride filled with fog and drizzle.

At that moment I realized only one thing would do–vegetarian chili! and apple crumble.

So I started grabbing cans of beans and corn and vegetables left and right, then biked the goods back to my place and got baking.

Yep, baking.

On my own. If you can call it that, considering it actually was the easiest recipe ever and was mostly chopping.

but I remain quite proud :)

Cooking commenced shortly thereafter, and the girls came over around 7

We had germany, america, and france represented at the table and two swedes on the couch. International chili!

It was deemed edible and I have yet to hear of any ailments after eating it so it looks like my first dinner in sweden was a success!

Going out to Platå followed, which is always a good time mainly because it frequently involves tequila and dancing.

 

Alright, considering my new expertise in all things culinary (i kid, i kid) I have devised a recipe for the erasmus student experience. You ready? here it is. let it cool after you take it out of the oven :)

 

Kallie’s perfect recipe for using up free time

5 cups laughing

1/2 cup studying

3 cups going out

1tsp missing home

5 gallons coffee (a day)

1 cup eating

and a sprinkle of hangover

One response to “length

  1. I’m going to be using the above recipe very soon! Although I may have to cut back the coffee to three :-) I’m sure all those lovely ladies enjoyed every bite of your delicious meal. How could you go wrong with chili and an apple crumble? I sure would have enjoyed myself! Thanks for sharing sweet woman!

Leave a Reply

