chronicle

DAY IN THE LIFE OF A CONGRESSIONAL INTERN


6:50 grudgingly wake up, run to GW gym, work out

7:30 shower, eat breakfast, liberally apply deodorant (!!!)

8:15 throw lunch in bag and leave for metro, walk two blocks over and three up


8:25 head down escalators to turnstiles– swipe smart card

8:30 read spare express left over from previous riders

8:45 arrive at Capitol South station

8:47 swipe smartcard and ascend escaltors

8:50 join masses of interns in transit to buildings, remove ipod from earts and go through Longworth metal detector

8:53 head up to the fifth floor, room 1505

8:55 hang up bag, replace flip flops with heels


9:00 make first of many coffee pots of the day


BEGIN TASKS:

  • fold and distribute morning publications to staff members
  • enter in first batch of constituent mail
  • answer phones
  • check outlook for any tasks
  • give tours
  • write letters or vote recommendations
  • archive and organize last years mail
  • enter phone calls into log
  • send in lunch schedule
  • browse news sites
  • attend hearings/briefings (either for pleasure or to take notes for staff)
  • you get the idea

5:30 start to feel the pull of the door, leaving is so close you can feel it.

6:00 replace heels with flip flops, pop in ipod

EVENING OPTIONS:

attend various receptions with open bar/ free food if applicable

catch metro home

hang out with people

make dinner

do yoga

go to sleep

As with any situation there is some variance. There are catastrophes (most often affiliated with my presence) such as this beautiful lunch combo jackpot..

+

=

Yes, that would be my favorite white DRY CLEAN only skirt decorated with my lovely avocado condiment! :(

More often though, the variance derives from afternoon treats! Some are brought in my staff..

(Crappy phone picture of Maya’s blackberry crumble)

Or in today’s case–provided by yours truly!:

I never tasted the final product, I much prefer dough to actual cookies..

Especially when it looks like THAT.

They aren’t pretty but they got rave reviews from the work crowd during the two o’clock mind crunch. They were devoured within the hour along with my 2lb bag of skittles and smaller package of gummy worms.

Score–

Kallie: 1

Life: 1 (remember the avocado, skirt situation? yeah..me too)

I seriously can’t believe tomorrow is my last day! It is so surreal. I am definately looking forward to coming home, but there are a fair bit of things that I will miss out here (and some things I will NOT miss)

Like-minded caffeine craving staff

Unlimited coffee access all day

The interns I work with, and staff

Being able to walk everywhere

The energy of the city

Meeting so many new people all the time

Proximity of my dorm to Trader Joe’s

Getting to get decked out in cute professional attire errryay

Giving tours!

Seeing congressmen everywhere

Reading the newspaper and knowing what they are talking about

Free food at receptions!

The shower that does not drain

Being sick and away from home

The HUMIDITY

Top Chef coming on at 9 (and the gym closing at 8:30)

The ghetto Watergate Safeway

Tourist B.O on the metro

Having to always re-use my four plates and one bowl

Trying to hang out with people, but not being old enough to get into a restaurant past 8

Crazy constituent calls

My tiny bed

All in all, I have had a great time out here, though not exactly what I expected. I hope that this isnt jinxing anything and I fall down a flight of stairs or something haha BUTTTTTT yeah it’s my last night so I’m going out now :)




One response to “chronicle

  1. What an amazing experience this internship was. I loved going through your day. (I am so sorry about your pretty skirt though!)

Leave a Reply

