sprinkles

While I have always considered myself a ‘thunderstorm person’–one who enjoys the spontaneous combustion of the sky into stormy madness–I must confess that this love stems from appreciating said storms comfortably from an inside venue, preferably with a cup of tea in hand.

As it turns out, thunderstorms are much less enjoyable when you happen upon them on your way home.

Allow me to rewind a bit.

I finished up the week quite busily. My days were booked full of tasks punctuated by various hearings and presentations.I saw my boss introduce and negotiate legislation on the committee floor during a mark-up session, I went to a save the tigers reception, and I went to a Peace Corps presentation and saw some senators speak about their experiences with it.

I hope you aren’t expecting me to give an explanation of who they are because I honestly have no idea. But they are congressmen, and I saw them speak (intern fail). As I mentioned in a previous post, we got let out early on Friday after CAKE which was beyond awesome before I was picked up by my lovely aunt Claire for a weekend trip to Great Falls.

It was so nice to spend time in a house..with a baby..with no schedule..with a tv..and a regular sized bed. We enjoyed a lazy saturday, got pedicures, ate out, and rented movies. Needless to say, much needed relaxation.

Two of my favorite attributes of this particular getaway were the presence of shower with a working drain (I could take a reasonably long shower without it turning into a bath in the process) and this nifty little doo-dad right here:

This single cup coffee brewer seriously limits caffeine intake in the best way, not to mention it’s too cute. I enjoyed a leisurely two cup Caribou Coffee morning. :)

I was feeling spry and rested when Claire deposited me back to my dorm this afternoon, ready to tackle the city and hit up some museums. My roommate, Irene and her visiting friend were going to go to the Eastern Market (think Portland’s Saturday Market pls giant farmers market) so I joined them instead.

It was a hot one, folks but the market had SO much going on I was really excited to be there…

Fruit and art and flowers OH my!

I was just peacefully bopping along, taking it all in when BAM resurgence of my little vertigo issue abounded.

SERIOUSLY?

I promptly sat down, downed some water, and when it didnt seem to help I peaced out back to the metro. When I ascended the escalators at the Foggy Bottom metro station still in my dazed funk you can imagine how thrilled I was that it had begun to drizzle.

Now for all you New Mexicans out there I have a little tip about East Coast weather–a rainstorm does not last 20 minutes. You cannot wait it out, that absolutely does not work. Luckily for me I has figured this out earlier so I immediately removed my flip flops and booked it.

Evidently, not quickly enough.

By the time I reached my dorm I was soaked to the bone. Despite my quick reaction, my feet were not fast enough to get me home before the full on gale swept down upon the city.

At least it was a tolerable temperature after that. I shivered my way upstairs, peeled off my wet clothes and made the best of the situation:

I no longer felt guilty about leaving the market or not going site seeing. I pulled on my new comfy yoga pants that I bought this weekend, brewed a cup of tea, and vegged out majorly.

I am still not feeling so well, but I only have four days to go before I will be home with the ones I love and where we can figure this out properly.

One response to “sprinkles

  1. I hope you start to feel better soon…you are in my thoughts. And yes, we had to make quite the adjustment when we moved out East. We weren’t used to the way it rains there. Here in Colorado, rain storms last for ten minutes…tops!

Leave a Reply

