fanta

It’s truly amazing what a good dose of sleep can do for a gal

WONDERS evidently.

I woke up this morning precisely eight hours after I tumbled into bed last night (not counting the three hour post-work, pre-going out nap earlier) feeling entirely human and decided to trek over to Georgetown for some caffeine sustenance, magazine reading, and people watching at Barnes and Noble.

Upon stepping outside I was surprised by my first experience with a tolerable temperature (70’s!!) and an abundance of raindrops splashing down. I was the sole umbrella-less patron that I encountered on my thirty minute stroll and I loved it. It was the most meditative, refreshing experience that I have had since the first night of my arrival.

As the rain splattered down my face, drenching me through and through I felt as though I was being showered with optimism. Having not brushed my hair, much less put on makeup, and being sans electronics I felt unconstrained in my appreciation of the impromptu shower.

I truly feel renewed and excited for my future once again, which is new considering my draining existence this week.

Hot coffee and words were the perfect accompaniment while I allowed my soaked body to dry a bit. I lost myself in magazines for two and a half hours without even realizing it, and felt perfectly content with just being where I was: observing the present. After reading I walked around Georgetown a little bit–strayed north of M street –before heading back to my dorm.

:)

2 responses to “fanta

  1. oh it looks relaxing. I love the pics in this blog. And coffee and rain put together is the best♥

Leave a Reply

