patriotic

Happy Birthday America!

The sun is shining, the tourists are flocking, and the interns are partying. I practically feel the patriotic spirit flowing through my veins ;) I began the day trekking off to the Dupont Circle farmer’s market

There was so much variety for a rather small farmer’s market and though I sampled my ass off I didn’t really find anything that I wanted to purchase because we did a trader joe’s run yesterday morning. I was tempted by certain things most definately though:

^CASE IN POINT^

I did drop by the DC staple of Kramerworks&Afterwords, the beyond adorable bookstore slash cafe slash delicious restaurant, and browsed some books (they offer books galore, so of course I am in love) about Swedish culture to begin prep for my departure in about 50 days. They were bumping with 4h of July business so I refrained from actually purchasing anything BUT I did stop by starbucks for an iced coffee moments later.

I took my time strolling back to the dorm and was touched and intrigued by this rooftop garden

Yesterday was the first day of downtime I had so after our Trader Joe’s excursion, Top Chef & Bethenny Getting Married watching, a quick nap, and phone sesh with the parents I spent the remainder of the afternoon working and then browsing the Washitonian website and finding some tasty food spots to check out!

It’s actually rather sad that I had enough time to create such an intricate list. I made a word document with the name of each place, explanations of directions, the genre of food, a link to them menu (if they had one), and whether it would be best to check out on my way home from work or from my dorm.

I also scratched out a small list of things for me to see in my downtime including (but definitely not limited to):

  • Dupont FreshFarm
  • Phillips Collection
  • National Geographic Museum
  • Kramerworks and Afterwords Cafe
  • Eastern Market
  • Newseum
  • Smithsonian

The underlined ones are the ones that I have now been to so I suppose I’m off to a good start. :) heading out now to be American and all that–bbq and fireworks anyone?

2 responses to “patriotic

  1. What a great way to celebrate the 4th! I love going to farmer’s markets to sample all of the produce and the artisan foods. I wish there had been in Colorado today!

  2. Dupont circle is the shit!

Leave a Reply

