chopin

In many ways, I feel as though I am a grandmother in a 18 year old body. I adore classical music, tea, sweaters, pearls, Breakfast at Tiffanys, and I wear dentures.

Okay, one of the above is not true (you caught me, I hate sweaters..) BUT I still bear a striking resemblance to a ninety year-old in many respects. The good news is, this increases my chances of making it into the Guiness Book of Records as the oldest person in the world considering I am ninety at heart NOW and I hope to have at least another seventy years more. This morning I joined my peers in attending the Church of Beethoven.

The “service” is basically church without the religion. People congregate to enjoy coffee and music on a Sunday morning at the Kosmos. Today the line up was

  • F Chopin: Nocturne in E Minor Opus 72
  • C Franck: Sonata in A Major for Violin & Piano
  • Poets: ABQ Unidos . . . Albuquerque Youth Poetry Slam Team

Notice the average hair color of the other attendees..

I have some other exciting news! Well, actually two things (more on that later) but the more superficially exciting one is that after living in NM for 18 years I can finally call myself a citizen BECAUSE I have tried red chile. This may come to a surprise to those of you who know me and are familiar with my obsession with spice, but I have always just had this preconcieved notion that I hated red chile despite never trying it.

After “church” we dined at the ORIGINAL Garcias downtown and I figured what a perfect opportunity to try my hand at some serious carne adovada consumption.

VERDICT:

eh..It was alright. I still prefer green but I am up for trying out some more red infused dishes in the near future. I will say that it was spectacular when paired with a smidge of honey on the tortilla and then piled on top.

Since we were already downtown with camera in tow, I decided to try my had at being photographer for my article this week about the warehouse fire on Broadway. The firefighters were trying to go about their usual business while I snapped a few shots. Let’s just say that I will be sticking to writing hahah I don’t think picture taking is my forte.

Now I am off to tidy up the house before my mother returns home from her weekend at our house in Pagosa Springs and then look for a plastic plate and bowl to bring to D.C

One response to “chopin

  1. You are precious…and yes, I often feel like I’m a grandma in a twenty-something year old body. But I think we are adorable. And I prefer green chile too!

Leave a Reply

