focus

As a stereotypical type-a individual, let me just say that meditation is the opposite of relaxing. On the contrary, it is quite possibly one of the more difficult endeavors I have undertaken thus far. Eliminating thoughts and focusing solely on your present state of being is a mental workout equivalent to a marathon.

I would definitely benefit from a meditation class like the one that I crashed at PSU today. It was totally interesting, but I got a headache from all the visualizing.I find the fact that I am a perfectionist even during activities within my own mind is a tad disturbing. It didnt help much that I was hungry during the class, it was at 2 so almost my lunch time, and my brain was absolutely overflowing with thoughts.

The feature meditation of the class had us visualize each chakra color on our body, then identify which ones were most difficult for us to picture and spend some time becoming aware of the energy within those areas.

I could easily see the red, yellow, and blue ones.

Root Chakra  – RED

Sanskrit name: Muladhara

Location: Base of spine and in the region of the pubic bone. Includes genitals and reproductive organs.
Symbol, Color and Sound: Muladhara (Root/Base Chakra) is symbolized by a lotus with four petals. Red is the color of energy, vitality and power. Sound “lam”.
Influences: Sexuality, mentally it governs stability, emotionally – sensuality and spiritually it influences a sense of security.

The Solar Plexus Chakra – YELLOW

Sanskrit name: Manipura

Location: Above the navel, stomach area
Symbol, Color and Sound: lotus with ten petals. Yellow is the color of intellect and it’s used for mental stimulation. Sound “ram”.
Influences: Physically, Manipura influences digestion, mentally – personal power, emotionally – expansiveness and spiritually- all matters of growth.

The Throat Chakra – BLUE

Sanskrit name: Vishuddha, Vishuddhi

Location:Throat region, parallel to the thyroid gland
Symbol, Color and Sound: Lotus with sixteen petals. Color blue helps to communicate your emotions properly. Sound “ham”.
Influences: Physically Vishuddha influences communication, emotionally- independence, mentally – fluent thought and spiritually associated with a sense of security.

I could not picture indigo or violet at all, so I went back to Tessa’s dorm and looked up what all of this meant after making a little dorm meal from the scraps I snuck out of the cafeteria last night.

Tofu, spinach, tomatoes, and mushrooms

I Googled my little heart away after chowing down, while listening to and uploading the cds we checkout of the library. Evidently I am not in tune with trusting or my sense of beingness, or wisdom. I thought it was really interesting.

Let me just say I find it immensely awesome that Portland’s public library had a fantastic and diverse mucis selection that is available for checkout. We scored some cool finds:

  • Slowblow
  • Matt Costa
  • Emiliana Torrini
  • The Sounds
  • Swords
  • Aqualung
  • Noel Lenaghan
  • Chris Robley
One response to “focus

  1. oooh. really like thiss one.

    whenever i meditate i just kind of sit there and let whatever comes to me come to me, i didnt realize there was so much i could concentrate on(granted my mind goes crazy kinda like you so really ive never succeeded at clearing my mind in meditation)
    but now im totally gunna hound this stuff out on google.

    lovee

Leave a Reply

