rose

Waking up to the sound of rain splashing on the window is incredibly soothing, I suppose it was Portland’s way of welcoming me to the city! I am still incapable to waking up late, with yesterday as an exception, so despite the fact that Tess and I hit the sack well past midnight, I still managed to awake at the lovely hour of 7 am.

When Tessa went to class I downed some coffee, popped on a raincoat and headed out the door into the Rose City.

I plugged into some tunes while I took the streetcar down to Pioneer Square for some shopping! I was out a tad early, so I acquainted myself with the area by walking around for about thirty minutes before heading into Banana Republic. I tried on massive amounts of clothing, I WANTED IT ALL. But seeing as I absolutely refuse to pay 70 dollars for a shirt, picture taking ensued because the stuff was too damn cute to go undocumented.

I made out with a comfy sweater and new pair of jeans for a cool 28 bucks! Gotta love sales :) After that I perused the surrounding shops of JCrew, Gap, etc but didn’t find anything particularly impressive–I have limited space in my bag and a whole other city to shop in so I have to be in love with something to go through with a purchase.

Hopping back onto the streetcar, I arrived at nerd heaven: Powell’s Books. You think I am kidding about this, but it is seriously readers’ Nirvana. Think four stories of ceiling-to-floor literature on any topic you can imagine.

Yep.

I died.

And then promptly revived myself and stealthily snapped a few pictures..

Just bury me there please. When I left I noticed that across the way was a Buffalo Exchange where I scored a pair of 10 dollar skin tight dickies jeans! So cute, but there is no breathing allowed when I wear them hahah. I also located another of my favorite places..

Man, I am so predictable. Unfortunately, they did not have my favorite item available. Evidently only certain Whole Foods make their delicious chips!

EXCUSE ME?!?!

I was so not okay with that. I immediately left and went to Safeway, which in my huffy state I neglected to take a picture of, although it totally deserved on as it is the nicest grocery store I have ever set foot in. In retaliation against my inability to cure my hankering for Whole Foods chips I bought two sweet potatoes, ghiridelli chocolate chips, and giant bag of swedish fish. I stuffed the sugary fish down my throat as I walked back to Tessa’s dorm, only to discover that I had actually bought REAL potatoes that were mixed in with the sweet ones!

I absolutely despise real potatoes. UGH. So of course I preceeded to eat my feelings away hahah

I put on an episode of Real Housewives of New Jersey and went to town. Twenty minutes later Tess walked in on a nauseous, overly stuffed version of Kallie. Seriously people, whoever thought eating Swedish Fish, chocolate chips, half a yogurt, and a slice of potato in a short time period is an idiot.

OH YEAH, that was me. BLECH.

Dinner will be light before we go out tonight, Tess is stealing salad from her cafeteria for me in an hour..IN the meantime I am drowning my sorrows in glass after glass of water.

One response to “rose

  1. Whole Foods and Bookstores…two of my most favorite things. And like you, I can’t sleep in past eight o clock.

Leave a Reply

