exploring

I have found that no matter where I go I somehow manage to locate two things: coffee dispensary and a book site. Obviously the coffee venue came first (I have needs people!!!) but the library bit came about yesterday afternoon.

I managed to sleep in until 9, which was particulary astounding considering Kemp and I took a nap from 10:30am to 12, then 5:30pm to 8, and then went to bed at 10pm (guess my early rising ways finally caught up with me). Anyways, I read and stretched out for an hour or so until Kemper returned, we grabbed lunch and then parted ways once again for him to go to class.

I decided to explore this little campus, seeing as it looks SLIGHTLY different than UNM hahah

and as I said earlier, I managed to stumble upon a lovely little library! I was beyond excited to find a section on television, movies, and broadcast journalism. I plopped down in the aisle and explored what the aisle had to offer:

Screenplays scripts for Almost Famous and American Beauty

Anecdotes from the stars of SNL

Advice from ‘Women in Television’ about broadcast journalism

In the basement the article archives were stocked in automated aisles, I thought that was rather nifty. You would just press a button and it would open up where you wanted to look!

I also snatched up a copy of Oregon State’s newspaper The Daily Barometer. I have to say, obviously I am incredibly biased, but I was entirely unimpressed. There were three articles on the front by reporters and I am not kidding the rest of the paper was AP (from other press sources) and it was PUNY.

It was written rather clumsily and there were more than a few syntax errors, made me feel proud to be a part of The Daily Lobo. Speaking of which, I am currently attempting to do an article from thousands of miles away sans voice recorder hahah so this will be interesting. It is about how the Health Sciences library is renting out iPads and they are all being incredibly helpful but I am crossing my fingers I can get this sucker knocked out today because we are travelling for the weekend to one of Kemper’s friends houses I guess.

One response to “exploring

  1. I’m with you on coffee and books. Two essential parts of my day. Found a great selection of both in NYC, and it looks like you found some great finds too!

Leave a Reply

