beginnings

Word on the street is that every day you learn something new, well today’s tidbit of knowledge is related to my hometown here in New Mexico.

Evidently Albuquerque is 5th leanest city in America! According to Men’s Heath (http://www.menshealth.com/mhlists/metrogrades-fattest-cities/) it is beat by Austin, Seattle, Washington DC, and San Francisco but is above Portland and Denver. It is kind of neat to know that you grew up in an environment where fitness and health is prioritized, but I never realized exactly how much of an impression it has made nationally.

in other news–I am officially settled in each of my homes, after officially relinquishing my dorm keys yesterday at approximately 12:45.

INTERRUPTION IN TRAIN OF THOUGHT:

I was wondering just yesterday why I didn’t go get my nails done more often, but after a mother-daughter pampering excursion (times two, jen and her mom joined us) I was rudely reminded while showering at the gym: My toes are ALREADY messed up! I love dark colors on my nails, but that choosing a dark red showcases any minor flaws that occur. Such a bummer, but I absolutely refuse to not run so I guess my nails’ appearance will be sacrificed.

BACK TO ORIGINAL TOPIC:

I an unbelieveably sick and tired of cleaning, organizing, packing, loading and unloading. Yesterday, after lugging all my belongings to my mother’s house and unpacking that, I returned to my dorm and cleaned for two hours, then loaded up again, dropped some things at Goodwill, got to my dad’s and just spent an hour unpacking and organizing THAT. Whew, feels nice to have my two rooms back in tip-top shape though I must say.

All that left me utterly tuckered out, plus the fact that in between loading up my car and dropping things off at goodwill I made a two hour gym trip. I did weights for the first time in FOREVER, for at least 45 mins, and then thirty minutes of sprints. I was not too tired, however to cook!

I took a mini nap while half watching julie/julia in the afternoon which inspired me to get off my butt and kick off ‘cook week’! I first made apple brownies, they were incredibly easy and totally delicious!

What you need:

2/3 cup butter (P.S. Cut out a third of a cup of butter and swap in a half-cup of applesauce instead)
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar (P.S. I know, I know–sugar!–but this is sort of desserty, so stay with me here. Consider cutting out a tad, if you want to. Apples are sweet enough on their own!)
2 eggs
1 cup flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
2 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1 t. vanilla
2 t. cinnamon
1 cup apples, chopped fine

Prep:

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla; mix well. Add flour, baking powder, and salt and cinnamon; stir well. Stir in apples, nuts, and raisins. Bake in a greased and floured 9 x 9 pan at 350° F. for 35-40 minutes.


Followed by some sweet potato fries through the instruction of this lovely lady and some carrot fries as well using the same recipe. We chowed down on those with our dinner of pad thai, made my Kristen while I did some yoga. All in all the past two days have been utterly fantastic and it looks like it is going to be a b-e-aUUUUUUtiful summer.

love, k

2 responses to “beginnings

  1. What delicious eats you got to prepare! I love that movie too…whenever I watch it, I always want to get into the kitchen. Thank you for sharing!

  2. WOW! After all that you decided to cook! This all looks sooo good too. Apple brownies sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

